Monday, 14 November 2016

REVIEW: Erik Hofstatter - Rare Breeds

Genre: Horror
Publisher: Dark Silo Press
Publication Date: 13th October 2016
Pages: 100


A copy of Rare Breeds was sent to Confessions of a Reviewer by the author, Erik Hofstatter, in exchange for an honest review. This is said review. This book is published by Dark Silo Press.

Erik Hofstatter. If you have been reading Confessions from the beginning, you will know this is my favourite name in the world of indie horror. We have had an up and down relationship in terms of how I like his books but that is what makes me like him even more. He keeps on coming back. I have been waiting on him writing something in the same vain as the first thing of his I read, The Pariahs. Not particularly the same type of story, just the same type of style.

His last short, Katerina and his collection Amaranthine and Other Stories left me wanting more from him. Was I going to get it with Rare Breeds?

This is what I thought.

Zora and Aurel are married and live with Zora’s daughter, Livie. It’s a relationship that has had its ups and downs. Aurel sleepwalks and he can never remember what he has done when he wakes up the next day.

This worries Zora a great deal. She is always worried in case he does something to harm Livie.

She should be more worried about what he is doing with his secret sister, Cornelia.

Friday, 11 November 2016

REVIEW: 13: An Anthology of Horror and Dark Fiction

Genre: Horror Anthology
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Publication Date: 4th Oct 2016
Pages: 435


A copy of 13: An Anthology of Horror and Dark Fiction, was sent to Confessions of a Reviewer by one of the contributors in exchange for an honest review. This is said review. This book is published by Limitless Press.

Anthologies. Love em or hate em, there have been a tonne of them out this year. To be honest I have probably already read my fill of anthologies and collections for the year so 13 is sort of up against it from the outset. It will need to be a good one to keep me reading.

On the other hand, I have read a few books from Limitless and they normally produce some really good stuff so I am hoping this is the same.

I won’t say which contributor sent the copy to me. If you know me though it shouldn’t be too hard to guess.

Anyway, this is what I thought of 13.

Thursday, 10 November 2016

COVER REVEAL: Robert E. Dunn - The Harrowing

Robert E. Dunn. One of the gentlemen of the indie book world.

I have known Robert for a while now and I must say, from all of the interactions I have had with him, every single one has been an absolute joy. He is, without doubt, one of the most prolific supporters of Confessions, continually tagging, reposting and retweeting everything we do. For that, sir, we are eternally grateful.

Bit of a no brainer then when Robert contacted us to see if we could do the necessary and set up a cover reveal for his new book coming out. Even though Confessions is sort of semi closed at the minute, this is something we could just not refuse to do.

If you have seen any of Robert’s previous books, you will know he has a longstanding relationship with artist, Erik Wilson, who also designed the artwork for two of Robert’s previous books, Red Highway and Motorman. Both of those covers stand out when put on anyone’s shelf and I am sure you will agree when you see the new one that it is equally as fantastic.

The new book is due out on 25th November and, as usual, Confessions will keep you updated with the links to buy as and when they become available.

So, without further ado, Confessions of a Reviewer gives you, the cover for The Harrowing by Robert E. Dunn.

Monday, 7 November 2016

REVIEW: Adam Howe - Tijuana Donkey Showdown

Genre: Pick One!
Publisher: Comet Press
Publication Date: 9th December 2016
Pages: 230


A copy of Tijuana Donkey Showdown was sent to Confessions of a Reviewer by the author Adam Howe in exchange for an honest review. This is said review. This book is published by Comet Press.

It is no secret that I absolutely love Adam Howe’s writing. Anything I have read from him before gives me the greatest of pleasure both during the reading, and once I have finished. You cannot help but have a huge smile on your face for days after finishing one of his books. They are that good.

His mixture of genres is superb. His last book, Die Dog or Eat The Hatchet, mixed up horror and comedy and southern noir with splattering’s of crime and mystery and a host of other genres to boot.

One of the stories in it was Damn Dirty Apes where the unlikely hero, Reggie Levine has to battle all sorts of unspeakable things to survive, and keep his reputation intact.

Tijuana Donkey Showdown is the sequel to Damn Dirty Apes. It was a no brainer that I was going to pick this one up.

This is what I thought.

It’s two for one day at Confessions!


Go buy it. Don’t read anyone’s review, including mine, they will not do it justice!

Sunday, 6 November 2016

The Times They Are A-Changin.

It’s been a funny old time this past couple of weeks in the Confessions office.

Everything is changing. In fact, I am in probably the biggest transitional period of my life. Ever.

A lot of you will know what’s going on but many of you may not. That is the reason for this post.

I have just become unemployed from the day job. This is mostly by choice but also due to enormous changes within the unit I was working in. It seemed a fantastic idea at the time because of life choices, and plans that myself and my wife Jo had in place to totally change the direction our life was taking, and to try and finally make something for ourselves and live out the dreams we have had for many years.